You've Got Questions, We've Got Answers
The size and type(s) of damages an attorney will be able to claim on your behalf will depend on the severity and extent of your motorcyle accident.
In most cases, this may include damages such as:
The Center for Disease Control (CDC) studied over 1,222,000 motorcycle accidents between 2001-2008 to discover the most common non-fatal injuries in motorcycle accidents.
The most common injuries are foot and leg injuries (33%), head and neck injuries (22%), followed by upper trunk (chest/shoulders), hands and arms, and lower trunk (hips/thighs).
Yes! Simply click here to get started and contact one of our attorneys. We'll ask you a few simple questions about your accident and get back to you within 24 hours (excluding weekends) on next steps.
Yes! One of the biggest misconceptions spread by insurance adjusters is that you are not entitled to make a personal injury accident claim if you were not wearing a motorcycle helmet during your accident. This is not true.
Yes. Technically, there is no motorcycle lane splitting law in California, so it is not illegal.
As of January 1, 2017, lane splitting is defined by California law, and the CHP is called upon to create guidelines for the practice, but it is nevertheless so far not explicitly regulated.
Motorcycles built and first registered on or after January 1st of 1973 are required to have working front and rear turn signals.
California law requires that if there are other vehicles nearby, a motorcyclist signal at least 100 feet from the point at which they intend to turn or change lanes.
However, insurance companies in civil motorcycle injury cases may argue that a motorcyclist's failure to signal may have contributed to an accident even when the law may not have required the signal to be used.
There are no specific age requirements for motorcycle passengers under California law, but the law does mandate "passenger restraint systems" for children under the age of eight, which cannot legally be installed on a motorcycle. Thus, a child under 8 cannot legally ride in California.
Additionally, the law requires that the bike have a securely fastened dedicated seat on which the passenger is able to sit securely, with footrests that the passenger must use at all times. Thus, if the child (or adult) is not tall enough to reach the footrests, they cannot legally ride in California.
Get a copy of our answers to 64 of the most common questions people have about:
Contact Us and We'll get back to You