Sally Morin Personal Injury Lawyers

Home >> Motorist Insurance Coverage FAQ

Sally Morin Personal Injury Lawyers

Home >> Motorist Insurance Coverage FAQ

Sally Morin Personal Injury Lawyers

Home >> Motorist Insurance Coverage FAQ

California Motorist Insurance Coverage FAQ

You've Got Questions, We've Got Answers


California Proposition 103 forbids insurance companies from automatically raising rates after an individual makes an uninsured motorist claim, but this protection may be voided if you make multiple uninsured motorist claims in a short period of time, even if the other driver was deemed at fault in every case.

Regardless, uninsured / underinsured motorist coverage is almost always worth it, because so many drivers, especially in California, are uninsured or carry only the minimum amount of coverage.

Because there are so many uninsured drivers in California, and because the state only requires that drivers carry a minimum of $15,000 worth of liability insurance coverage, we recommend a minimum of $100,000 in uninsured / underinsured motorist coverage to make sure that you're covered if you're hit by someone who is either uninsured or doesn't have enough liability insurance coverage.

Understand that you will be required to carry an equal or higher amount of liability coverage as uninsured / underinsured motorist coverage.

Want More Answers?

Get a copy of our answers to 64 of the most common questions people have about:


  • Personal Injury Claims
  • Personal Injury Lawyers
  • The Personal Injury Process
  • How to build a strong personal injury case
  • Insurance Coverage in Personal Injury Claims
  • Medical Bills and Treatment
  • Property Damage Claims
  • Fees and costs in a personal injury claim
  • why sally morin law

Didn't find the Answer?

Contact Us and We'll get back to You