Despite California’s tough laws on drunk driving, DUI fatalities have been on the rise in recent years. Drunk driving remains one of California’s top causes of car accidents.
If you’re hit by a drunk driver, it will likely be a confusing and traumatic situation. What you do next could affect your future, as well as that of the drunk driver and any other victims. Here’s what to do next.
Hit by a Drunk Driver? Here’s How to Handle it.
Safety should always be the top priority after a drunk driving accident. Call 911 if there are any injuries and report the accident to the police. Move quickly to a safe place away from traffic, even if you have to leave your car behind.
Drunk drivers are often incoherent after accidents and may do unpredictable things like attacking you, stumbling around, or even fleeing the scene. Stay away from the drunk driver and focus on checking yourself for injuries.
Whether you’re injured or not, remain at the scene and wait for the authorities. Take photos and videos of the accident if possible. The evidence you gather now could be a huge help in the future.
You will likely be interviewed by police and may hear lots of questions from an EMT or emergency room doctor. Answer their questions and do what you need to receive proper medical treatment, but don’t volunteer too much extra information before you speak to your attorney.
Imagine This: Your Uber Driver is Drunk
With more than 600,000 people driving at least part-time for Uber and Lyft in California, the odds are decent that you could be in a car accident with a rideshare driver at some point. What if they’re drunk?
A California Public Utilities investigation found more than 150 reports of drunk Uber drivers, but Uber investigated only 21 of these claims. The investigation eventually led to the state fining Uber $1.1 million for providing an unsafe service.
But for rideshare passengers and other drivers on the road, there’s still no good way to ensure you’re not near a drunk driver. You might not even know they’re drunk until after an accident happens.
You Have a Right to Sue Over a Drunk Driving Accident
California victims of drunk drivers have the right to sue by making a personal injury claim. The costs of a drunk driving accident can be extremely high, especially considering the severe injuries and car damage that are common to these accidents.
Research has found that even a minor drunk driving crash can cost $3,000 to $6,000 in car repairs. Medical bills can easily climb to $10,000 or far more.
Victims of California drunk driving accidents can sue for:
- Medical costs
- Car repairs
- Lost wages
- Pain and suffering
Sally Morin Law obtained an $841,500 personal injury settlement for a San Francisco art student who was injured in a rideshare accident. If you ever find yourself in a situation like this, seek the help of an experienced San Francisco DUI lawyer who can help you secure the compensation you deserve.
Experience a serious car accident?
Check out our Car Accident Page to learn more about how the process works.
We Handle Your Rideshare DUI Accident Claim So You Can Focus on Your Life
After a rideshare DUI accident, contact the attorneys at Sally Morin Personal Injury Lawyers. We handle many areas of traffic law, including injuries that arise from rideshare-related DUIs. We believe you should be able to focus on recovering from your accident while we handle the legal details. We truly care about our fellow citizens of San Francisco and California. Call 833-SALLY-SF today for a free case evaluation.